Farm Fresh To Me

I wrote in an earlier post about receiving fresh produce delivered right to my front door.  Farm Fresh To You is the service I have been using.

They let you select from a variety of mixes, frequency of delivery (weekly, bi-weekly, monthly) and they even let you do some customizing.  Say you never want to receive lettuce, you just opt-out of lettuces and they’ll put in a replacement item, at their discretion.

I’ve received deliveries twice now and I have to say that I’m impressed!  I’ve tried a couple of CSAs in the past but was always discouraged by having to go to a certain place at a specified time and then not finding things to be as fresh as I’d expect.

But with Farm Fresh To You I have been nothing but pleased with the produce, both with the selection and with the freshness.

My first shipment, picture above, contained lots of bok choy, carrots, spinach, radishes, an avocado, red potatoes, Cava Cava oranges, broccoli, lettuce, a red onion and some strawberried.

I was overwhelmed with the bok choy.  It’s not something I usually buy and there was a lot of it.  So I decided to combine it with the potatoes and carrots and make a roasted-vegetable stew.  I roasted the bok choy after basting it with olive oil and sprinkling it with salt and pepper.  I also roasted the potatoes and carrots.  After they were done, I cut them up and placed them in a pot with about 3 cups of vegetable stock, added some saffron and a parmesan rind and simmered for about 20 minutes.

I also roasted the radishes and red onion in come coconut oil and had them, while still warm, over a bed of the fresh spinach with some goat cheese, some blood-orange olive oil I picked up at a farmer’s market a few months back and some balsamic vinegar.  Roasting the radishes gives them a much sweeter taste and a texture akin to roasted carrots.  The flavor of sweet radish with the tang of the goat cheese and the caramelized onion was surprisingly simple and savory.

One thought on “Farm Fresh To Me

  1. Pingback: Gone Pickin’ | whole food hungry

Leave a Reply

