Breakfast Oatmeal with Blueberries and Chia Sprinkles

Breakfast Oatmeal with Blueberries and Chia Sprinkles

I remember my first migraine like it was yesterday.  And that’s not just because I’m having one today, although that certainly helps revive the nostalgia.  At the time, I was 8 and my parents were embroiled in a bitter custody battle over me and I was scheduled to talk to a social worker and give input on my current and future living arrangements.  I knew that both of my parents were going to be there and that added to the anxiety.

That morning I had a ton of fresh blueberries.  I remember being told to wait in a little blue room that had toys and books.  I don’t remember much about the toys and books.   I just remember really, intense bright lights and crippling nausea.  Then, I blacked out.  After arriving home that afternoon those blueberries ended up all over the living room carpet.  I can only imagine the frustration my mother must have felt after dealing with a custody battle all day and then having to clean up that mess.

All of this might lead you to think that I would never want to touch a blueberry again, sort of like the way I feel about tequila after similar results.  But, actually, I love blueberries.  I love them as much fresh off the vine as I do frozen in a smoothie.

Breakfast Oatmeal with Blueberries and Chia SprinklesBreakfast Oatmeal with Blueberries and Chia Sprinkles

I woke up this morning to two things:  a nauseating migraine and a new delivery from my Farm Fresh To You CSA.  This week’s box included two containers of fresh, sweet and soft blueberries.  I spent some considerable amount of time lying on the couch for a bit wondering whether or not I should eat and what I wanted if I did eat (a constant dilemma during a migraine).

Breakfast Oatmeal with Blueberries and Chia Sprinkles

I decided to make myself some oatmeal.

It’s been a number of months since I’ve had any oats at all since I’d given up all grains.  But, last week I added a little corn in the form of polenta without any negative results, i.e. digestive issues, swollen joints, immediate headaches, etc.  And this week I’d begun to really want some granola so I bought some gluten-free rolled oats.  The granola recipe will have to wait since I haven’t made it yet but here’s the oatmeal I made for myself this morning.

The other day over at Cooking Up The Cure there was a great post cleverly titled “This Chia Seeds Walked Into a Muffin” that listed the multiple benefits of chia seeds so at the last second I added a few to my oatmeal.

Oh, and I decided to call the chia seeds chia “sprinkles” for this recipe just because I think it sounds way more fun!

Breakfast Oatmeal with Blueberries and Chia Sprinkles

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon (approximately) chia seeds

Bring two cups of water and the salt to boil.  Add the oats, lower the boil to a simmer and cook for 10-20 minutes, stirring occasionally (mine took the full 20 minutes; I don’t like a watery oatmeal).

Serve with the blueberries, brown sugar and chia seeds, as pictured.

Breakfast Oatmeal with Blueberries and Chia Sprinkles

NOTE:  I made this for myself so, although the oatmeal made about 2 servings the additional ingredients are what I put on only one serving.  I haven’t decided yet what to do with the leftover oatmeal.  Any ideas?

13 thoughts on “Breakfast Oatmeal with Blueberries and Chia Sprinkles

    • I’m happy that you enjoyed the post. It’s not always easy to be so personal with the “strangers” on the net but it is therapeutic. And then, well, I just make myself some comfort food! :-)

  1. Looks good! I’ll have to try the chia seeds. P.S. I’m pretty sure that all oats are gluten-free, so don’t pay more for the label! Healthiest are steel cut long cooking – all the nutrients remain;)

    • Thanks! And, you’re right, all oats are inherently gluten-free. However, for gluten-sensitives (like me) and celiacs, it is important to get certified gluten-free oats. The reason for this, as I recall, has to do with soil contamination. When the wheat crop is rotated to an oat crop (which is very common) contamination occurs. In fact, some celiacs are so sensitive that they stay away even from oats that are supposed to be gluten-free!

Leave a Reply

