Pain Clouds Your Judgment

Over 10 days ago I began writing this post:

I have a new found understanding of the celebrities we keep hearing about who die from prescription drugs.

Last Friday morning at about 12:30 a.m. I awoke with a migraine that would take down a moose.  I could think of nothing but getting rid of the pain.  Unfortunately, I was also planning on having surgery several days later which meant that I could not take Excedrin, or ibuprofen or Aleve or anything containing aspirin, ibuprofen or naproxen.  So, I started out with on a Frova by itself, which I usually take with a couple of Excedrin because the Frova can take up to two hours to kick in.  At 1:45 a.m. I awoke again still in agony and took 2 extra-strength Tylenol.  No budge.  At 3:30 a.m. I pulled out the big guns and took a Vicodin.

My alarm went off at 6:00 and even though I felt groggy I dragged myself out of bed and into the shower.  I felt fine for the first few minutes and then, as I was rinsing the shampoo out of my hair, I very suddenly completely lost balance and collapsed in the shower.  My legs went to jelly, I got dizzy and disoriented and very weak.  I turned off the water and crawled back to bed, soaking wet.  About 45 minutes later, I tried it again.  After only about 2 minutes standing at my bathroom sink, I got hot, felt flushed and could not walk.  I made it back to my bed where I vomited the orange juice I had drank in the hopes that I simply had low blood pressure.

For the rest of the day I was pretty out of it and since then I haven’t taken anything, not even an aspirin.

In the 10 days since I wrote the above entry I have been having a very hard time feeling well.  I’ve taken some drastic steps.

Most significantly for me, I’ve given up coffee, both regular and decaf.  I say this is significant because I’ve tried to give up coffee before.  I feel that coffee is for me what cigarettes are to a smoker – a true addiction.  Several years ago I quit coffee for 3 months and not a day went by that I didn’t yearn for a hit.  But, I also can’t help but wonder if the caffeine is hindering my health and a contributor for my migraines.

So, coffee is out.

I substituted tea until the last few days when, other than an Excedrin this morning, I have not had any caffeeine.  I can honestly say it is the hardest of the changes I’ve made.

I’ve also, for the time being, given up all grains.  No wheat, no rice, no corn, no soy and no oats.  Of any kind.  And you’d be surprised at the number of products that contain some variation of corn or soy.  I’ve had to completely eschew salad dressings

Then there are the oils: no canola, safflower, vegetable or grapeseed oils.  For fats I’ve been using only olive oil, butter and coconut oil.

So, you ask, what does this leave?  Meat, fish, fruits, vegetables, nuts, beans, eggs and dairy.  I’d have to say that I feel about 75% better…I am sleeping better, or at least through the night, I don’t have that mid-afternoon energy slump and I have fewer general aches and pains.  But all is not perfect.  For instance, I’m writing this entry right now through the oncoming haze of a migraine.  I’m sure my thoughts seem disjointed and I have no energy to do much editing so my apologies for the terrible writing.

Leave a Reply

