Control

It occurred to me today that what I want the most about my diet is control.  Control over the things I eat, what they contain and where they come from.  I’m beginning to go to great lengths for control.

Making Fresh-Pressed Orange Juice

For instance, I am starting to make a lot of things from scratch.  No, I’m not going to grow my own oranges, and I may not even go pick them, but once I can verify from the labels that I’m buying certified organic, locally-grown oranges then I will make and freeze orange zest and use the oranges for fresh-pressed orange juice.  And, someday I’ll take the time to make candied orange peel.  Maybe, even, from oranges I’ve picked myself.

Leave a Reply

