Rainbow Quinoa with Leeks, Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Quinoa is one of those foods that makes last-minute, thrown-together, dinners feel like culinary haute couture.  It’s ready in less than 3o minutes and, like rice and pasta, has lots of options.

Last night was a night that called for something quick and easy.  Work was exhausting and traffic was excruciating (2 hours on the 405…too bad I’m not drinking anymore).  Looking around I gathered a leek that had definitely seen better days, some sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil and a cup of rainbow quinoa.  Since the sun-dried tomatoes also came with great herbs I was even more ahead of the game.

(Recipe Method Disclaimer)

I cooked the quinoa according to package directions for about 15 minutes – not a lot of creativity there.  Oh, and in the meantime I cut two sweet potatoes in half, dressed them in olive oil, salt and pepper, turned them cut side down in an aluminum pan and put them in an oven at 400.

I chopped up the leek and about 1/2 cup or so of the sun-dried tomatoes and then sautéed them together.  No oil or butter needed since it came with the tomatoes.  I tossed them with the quinoa, added a little salt and pepper and then a huge amount of yummy goat cheese (in case you haven’t figured it out already I LOVE goat cheese).

And, just because…

10 thoughts on “Rainbow Quinoa with Leeks, Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Roasted Sweet Potatoes

    • it IS super delicious and super easy – one of those things that you’ll eventually turn to over and over in the same way most people do pasta or rice. Let me know how it turns out for you!

  1. Pingback: 10 Foods Turn On Genes Related to Fat Burning « MEDCRUNCH

  2. Pingback: Quinoa with Sweet Potatoes | Alison Amazed

  3. Such an interesting flavor combination…sweet potatoes and sun dried tomatoes. I don’t eat many grains, but if I do, it’s quinoa due to the lower carb, higher protein factor. Will try.

    • I agree and I didn’t plan on the combination when I set about cooking that day. I like it when sweet potatoes are roasted until the surface starts to caramelize. They’re still delicious at room temp or even cold so they’re an easy thing for me to take to work. And when I made the quinoa dish I had just finished the roasting of the sweet potatoes and thought I’d try them together for a good, complete vegetarian dinner and it worked out great! Thank you for visiting my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

