Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

I live in Los Angeles and it takes me an hour to drive 12 miles twice a day just to get to and from work.  By the time I get home each day I’m exhausted and need to be able to throw together something quick, easy and tasty.  Yesterday’s dinner was just the right combination.

I put together the sauce recipe in my head in the car on the way home after considering what I knew I had on hand.  The only tweaking I did afterwards was to adjust the amount of Sriracha sauce; I was initially going to put in 2 tablespoons but backed down to only 1 after a taste test.  I don’t like super-duper spicy and if I’d gone through with the extra tablespoon I would’ve lost all feeling in my mouth.

I took one block of extra firm tofu and cut 1/2 of it into 3 thick slices, probably about 1/2 an inch each.  I put the 3 slices in a stack with a paper towel between each layer and on the top and the bottom.  Then I placed a grill press on top but any other heavy object such as a fry pan or a cookbook would work just as well.

Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

Separately, I threw together the juice of two oranges, 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of Sriracha hot sauce, a teaspoon of finely grated fresh ginger (I used a microplane for this part), a tablespoon of ground fresh garlic, 2 teaspoons of rice vinegar and 2 tablespoons of honey.

Then I marinated the tofu in the sauce mixture for 30 minutes, but overnight would probably be superior.

Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

Meanwhile, knowing that I needed a least a little veggie I sliced up one green bell pepper.  I am not a fan of green bell peppers but I got a couple in this week’s CSA box.   Quite surprisingly, this recipe actually had me eating the whole thing.

I set an enameled cast iron grill pan on medium-high heat and let it get super hot.  I put the tofu and the bell pepper in the pan at the same time.  I grilled each side of the tofu for about 5 minutes and turned the pepper slices occasionally.

While the tofu was grilling I poured the marinade into a saucepan and simmered it on high just until the tofu was done.

Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

I thought about making some 100% buckwheat soba noodles but was too hungry to take the time.  I may do that next time, though, in which case I would add a little arrowroot flour to the sauce to thicken it , chop up the tofu and the peppers then toss it all together and add a bit of lime juice and cilantro.

Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

  • 1/2 block of extra firm tofu, cut into 1/2″ slices
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and sliced

For the marinade / sauce

  • the juice of 2 oranges (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1-2 tablespoons Sriracha hot sauce
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated
  • 1 tablespoon fresh garlic, ground
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 teaspoons rice vinegar

Makes 2 servings.

And, as always…

One thought on “Grilled Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

  1. My oh my I like the sound and look of this! My kind of food. Will try it – have never tried the pressing tofu but the way you describe it makes it look so easy – always thought it had to be along process, but 30 min is just great!

Leave a Reply

