Steamed Green Beans with a Garlic Champagne Vinaigrette and Broiled Goat Cheese

Steamed Green Beans with a Garlic Champagne Vinaigrette and Broiled Goat Cheese

This dish looks like a side dish, I know.  But I ate it for lunch.  It won’t hurt my feelings, though, if you use it as a side dish, I promise. In fact, if you do, be sure to let me know what you decided to serve it with.

I mentioned in an earlier post about how challenging it can be for me to figure out what to take to work for lunch.  I can’t have sandwiches because I can’t eat wheat and I just haven’t found any gluten-free bread worth the substitution.  It just seems to be missing something.  Probably gluten.  I also don’t have access to a microwave or toaster oven or anything else I can use to heat up my food.  So I need lunch items that I can eat either cold or room temperature.  This little green bean salad fits the bill perfectly.  There’s no doubt that with the broiled goat cheese it’d be delicious warm.  And I confess to sneaking a bite just after it was finished.  There’s definitely no doubt.

Here you can see a little insight into my recipe development method.  Basically, grab a little sheet of paper, think a moment about what you have on hand, and write down a few ingredients that sound good together.  Dill?  No…..thyme.  Sometimes I decide the title first, sometimes I figure the ingredients first and develop the title from that.  I don’t worry too much about the amounts; that’ll all come about later.

Steamed Green Beans with a Thyme Champagne Vinaigrette and Broiled Goat Cheese

First, set your oven on broiler and cut three thick slices of goat cheese, put them on a layer of aluminum foil and leave them to rest on the counter.

In a large bowl combine 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil, 1 tablespoon of champagne vinegar, 1 tablespoon of mined garlic, 1 1/2 – 2 tablespoons of fresh chopped thyme and 1/2 teaspoon each of pepper and kosher salt, then whisk it all together.

Steamed Green Beans with a Garlic Champagne Vinaigrette and Broiled Goat Cheese

Meanwhile steam 1 pound of cleaned and trimmed green beans for 10-12 minutes, then rinse them under cold water to stop the cooking process.  Put the beans in the bowl and toss with the dressing.

When the broiler is nice and hot, leave the goat cheese on the foil and place in the broiler for 2-3 minutes, just until it starts to brown and settle but before it starts to melt and separate.  Don’t be shy about peeking in on it.

Pour the beans onto a plate or serving platter, drizzle with any leftover dressing from the bottom of the bowl and, using a solid metal spatula, arrange the goat cheese on top.  Then sprinkle with a tablespoon or so of toasted sesame seeds.

Steamed Green Beans with a Garlic Champagne Vinaigrette and Broiled Goat Cheese

Steamed Green Beans with a Garlic Champagne Vinaigrette and Broiled Goat Cheese

Steamed Green Beans with a Garlic Champagne Vinaigrette and Broiled Goat Cheese

  • 1 pound green beans, washed and trimmed
  • 3 slices fresh goat cheese, about 1/2″ thick each
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon champagne vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon, or 2 cloves, fresh garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 – 2 tablespoons fresh chives, finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • optional:  1 tablespoon of toasted sesame seeds

Makes 4 servings.

4 thoughts on “Steamed Green Beans with a Garlic Champagne Vinaigrette and Broiled Goat Cheese

Leave a Reply

