Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

Oddly enough, as many times as I’ve had turnip greens, I’ve never had turnips.  So this dish was a major experiment.  Not only because I wasn’t sure if I would like turnips but also because I was making up a recipe for something I wasn’t sure I’d like.

Turns out, they’re pretty darn good.

Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

These turnips are the other half of the turnip greens I made last week so I really needed to figure out what I was going to do with them.  They’re very easy to prep by just cutting off the green parts and scrubbing the dirt off.  When they’re young like these the skin doesn’t need to be removed.

Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

Turnips smell earthy and peppery, not unlike the Japanese horseradish, wasabi.  I figured I’d want to mellow that out a bit so, as I’ve done with potatoes, I zeroed in on goat cheese.

I removed the “tails” and chopped up the turnips in cubes and put them in a saucepan, covered them with water, added a teaspoon of kosher salt and boiled them until soft, in very much the same way I would potatoes for mashed potatoes.  Then I drained the turnips and added milk, butter, goat cheese and bit more salt and then blended it all together with a hand mixer, but a food processor and hand masher would have worked just as well.

When it was all blended together I poured it into a glass Pyrex dish and placed it in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees and then finished it off in the broiler for a few minutes just until it browned a bit on top.

A little garlicky aspect seemed like a natural addition and if I’d had some regular garlic on hand I would’ve roasted it first so that it wouldn’t be as, well, garlicky.  What I had instead was spring garlic which won’t roast quite the same as mature garlic so instead I crisped it up in some olive oil.

Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese Crispy Spring Garlic

Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

for the turnips:

  • 8 medium white turnips
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 cup goat cheese
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt, divided

for the garlic:

  • 2 spring garlic bulbs, chopped finely
  • 1/2 cup olive oil, approximately

Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

Is dinner ready yet?

7 thoughts on “Mashed Turnips with Goat Cheese and Crispy Spring Garlic

  1. I love the crispy garlic idea. And goat cheese is always in my refrigerator……so now…..just have to conquer turnips.

    • That was my issue, too. Thankfully they’re inexpensive. Try really reducing the recipe by cooking only a couple of turnips and combining a tablespoon of goat cheese at a time. Use a little ramekin to do the baking in the oven. That way you can find out if you like them without spending too much dough!

Leave a Reply

