Carrot-and-Potato Cheddar Gratin

Carrot and Potato Cheddar Gratin with Thyme

I seem to have become overrun with carrots lately.  A couple of weeks ago I got a gorgeous bunch of large carrots from my CSA.  Somewhere along the way I acquired a bunch of medium-sized carrots and then, at a Sunday Farmer’s Market in Malibu I came across an adorable bunch of (real) baby carrots and just had to have them.  An impulse buy, for sure.  Sometimes I really wish that I could install a camera inside my refrigerator that would let me check what is in there no matter where I am.

I knew last week that I needed to do something with those large carrots ASAP or they were going to go limp and lose too  much of their nutritional value, even if I could revive them in a sink full of cold water for a few hours.  I also had a pound of small potatoes to deal with so I figured, what the heck, let’s throw them together and see what happens.

And, hey, everything goes better with cheddar, so a gratin was a natural result.

Before I get started, let me warn you that these came out with a bit more liquid left than you would normally get after baking the gratin but that’s how I like it.  The reason I like it this way is because I reheat the leftovers one serving at a time in the oven (I don’t own a microwave) and that extra liquid help the leftovers to stay moist during the reheating process.

So, let’s get started.

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

Slice 1 pound of potatoes (not peeled) and 1 pound of large carrots (peeled only if necessary) and bring to boil in a large pot for about 5 minutes.  Drain and rinse with cold water and pour into a large bowl.  Set aside.

In a stainless steel saute pan, melt one tablespoon of butter and saute one cup or so of sliced red onion just until soft (I used a sweet purple Maui onion; I’m sure any onion will do but I like the mild flavor of a sweet onion and the purple added pretty color).  Toss the onions with the carrot and potato mixture.

Separately, whisk together 1 cup of while milk, 1/2 cup of heavy cream and 2 tablespoons of cornstarch.  Then whisk in a teaspoon each of salt and pepper, and 1 tablespoon each of freshly chopped thyme and marjoram.  Pour the milk and herb mixture over the potato/carrot/onion mixture and toss gently.

Carrot and Potato Cheddar Gratin with Thyme

Carrot and Potato Cheddar Gratin with Thyme

Carrot and Potato Cheddar Gratin with Thyme

Then shred about 1 to 1/2 cups of a good white cheddar.  As you can see here I used an English cheddar that I got at a reasonable price at Costco.

Carrot and Potato Cheddar Gratin with Thyme

Carrot and Potato Cheddar Gratin with Thyme

Pour half of the potato/carrot/onion mixture into a casserole dish and sprinkle half of the cheese on top.  Pour the other half on top of that and sprinkle with the remaining cheese.

Carrot and Potato Cheddar Gratin with Thyme

Then place the dish into the oven and bake for 30-45 minutes, until the potatoes are cooked through and the cheese is hot, bubble and slightly browned.

Carrot-and-Potato Gratin

  • 1 pound large carrots, sliced
  • 1 pound small potatoes, sliced
  • 1 cup red or purple onion, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups cheddar, grated
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon thyme
  • 1 tablespoon marjoram
  • 2 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper

Carrot and Potato Cheddar Gratin with Thyme

And here’s my Lowe-Lowe being a total ham…

3 thoughts on “Carrot-and-Potato Cheddar Gratin

  1. This came at JUST the right time. I have a local farmer that brings me vegetables whenever he comes to town. He loaded me up with carrots just yesterday and I was wondering what to do with them. This is great!!

Leave a Reply

