Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

My CSA box blessed me with some sweet, small garnet yams and I just knew I needed to do something special with them.  My absolute favorite thing to do with sweet potatoes is to just cut them into cubes and roast them until soft and caramelized and then maybe add a bit of goat cheese.  I roast them in this dish, too.  But I take it a couple of flavors further and the result is sweet and savory and cheesy and crunchy.

Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

Don’t you just love the ruby color?

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Then scrub the yams clean, remove the tips and cut them into cubes – the size is up to you.  These started out as small so the cubes were fairly small, too.

Put the cubes in a roasting pan and toss with olive oil, coating each piece completely and add about 1 teaspoon each of salt and pepper.

Roast the yams in the oven for 30 to 40 minutes, depending upon how soft you want them.

When you’ve got about 10 minutes left of roasting, clean and cut one leek.  Trim off the green part, slice in half lengthwise, place the flat side down and then chop.  Saute the leeks in a little olive oil with about 1 teaspoon of minced garlic just until soft.

Pull the yams out of the oven and transfer the leeks and garlic into the roasting pan so they don’t brown in the saute pan.

Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

Coat a casserole dish with a little bit of olive oil and add the yams and leeks.  Separately, shred about 1 1/2 to 2 cups of smoked gouda and chop up a tablespoon or so of fresh sage.  Add both to the casserole dish and toss to combine.

Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

Finally, add 3 tablespoons of melted butter to 1 cup of gluten-free bread crumbs.  I used a bit of a Parmesan baguette that was a couple of days old and chopped it up in my mini-prep.

Spread the buttered crumbs on top of the casserole and place in the oven for 20 minutes or until it is hot and browned.

Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

  • 2 pounds of sweet potatoes/garnet yams, chopped
  • 1 leek, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon fresh sage, chopped
  • 1 1/2 to 2 cups smoked gouda, shredded
  • 1 cup fresh gluten-free bread crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • olive oil (i use extra-virgin)

Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Bake with Smoked Gouda and Sage

  1. I live right in the middle of one of the largest sweet potato regions, and I NEVER get tired of these little beauties. I love that you combined them with gouda, one of my favorite cheeses.

    • Funny story: when I was a baby my mom fed me so much sweet potato baby food that I literally started turning orange!
      I was originally thinking Gruyere but I’m glad I used the Gouda, too.

Leave a Reply

